India vs South Africa 2019: India Announce Squad For South Africa Tests

Sanjay Bangar, India

After an emphatic start to the ICC World Test Championship beating West Indies 2-0, India will now shift their focus to the three-match series against South Africa. The Tests will follow the three-match T20Is starting from September 15 which will mark India’s long home season.

Virat Kohli & Co produced a thorough effort against West Indies. The form of Ajinkya Rahane and Hanuma Vihari in the middle-order have strengthened their batting. Vihari finished as the highest run-scorer in the series against the Caribbeans while Rahane finished just after the Andhra cricket.

The bowling unit also backed the hard work put in by the batters and will hope to keep up the excellent work against South Africa and consolidate their top spot in the World Test Championship. India will be up for a tough challenge against South Africa, who have a potent bowling unit.

Hanuma Vihari
Hanuma Vihari. (Credits: Twitter)

Read More: India vs South Africa 2019: South Africa Announce 15-Member Squad For The Test Series Against India

The selectors have dropped KL Rahul owing to poor performance in recent times. Shubman Gill has earned his maiden cap in the red-ball cricket. On the other hand, Rohit Sharma has retained his place in the playing XI. The young batsman from Punjab has done an outstanding job in recent times for India A and deserves a place in the playing XI.

Otherwise, the selectors have retained the same squad which will take on South Africa. The three-match Test series will kick off from October 2 (Wednesday) in Visakhapatnam. Pune and Ranchi will host the second and the third Test starting from October 10 (Thursday) and 19 (Saturday) respectively.

India squad for the three-match Test series against South Africa:

Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk),Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill



The post India vs South Africa 2019: India Announce Squad For South Africa Tests appeared first on CricketAddictor.

Cricket NEWS

Leave a Reply