Australia Announce 12-Man List For Final Ashes Test, Mitchell Marsh Gets The Nod

Mitchell Marsh, Ashes 2019

Well, the Australian Cricket Team has announced 12-member list for the final Test of the ongoing Ashes Trophy. The major shock in the list is the name of Mitchell Marsh. The right-handed all-rounder will replace the stylish southpaw Travis Head. Apart from that, the remaining players are all part of the previous Test as well.

They persisted with David Warner while Marcus Harris will once again open the innings. The number three batsman Marnus Labuschagne got the nod once again while the leading run-scorer of the series Steve Smith will bat at number 4. With Travis Head mission out, it would be interesting to see the face in number 5 for Australia.

Australia. (Credits: Twitter)

Mostly, it would be Matthew Wade, who would be taking the role while there will be a promotion in the batting order for one between the skipper Tim Paine and the latest to include in the side, Mitchell Marsh. Another interesting aspect would be the selection of the fast bowling department.

Travis Head Disappointed – Tim Paine

Speaking of the surprise selection, the skipper Tim Paine quoted that they would like to have an extra-bowling option, as the series was so long. He doesn’t want to put pressure on his bowlers, thus, they asked Marsh to deliver. Despite missing out, Paine feels that Head is one of their best batsmen.

Tim Paine, Mitchell Marsh
Tim Paine (Credits – Twitter)

“The reason Travis isn’t playing is that we felt we needed extra bowling after a long series,” skipper Tim Paine said. We want to get the make-up right for this Test and unfortunately, Travis misses out. He’s disappointed he’s not playing. No doubt he’s in the top six or seven batsmen in this county,” Tim Paine said as per

The head coach was full of praises for Peter Siddle, however, they might stick to the fast bowling trio, who did the job in the fourth Test to retain the Ashes Trophy. Meanwhile, the spinner quota will see Nathan Lyon donning the shirt against for Australia in Test format of the game.

Australia XII for Final Test:

David Warner, Marcus Harris, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Mitch Marsh, Matthew Wade, Tim Paine (c, wk), Pat Cummins, Peter Siddle, Mitch Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

The post Australia Announce 12-Man List For Final Ashes Test, Mitchell Marsh Gets The Nod appeared first on CricketAddictor.

Cricket NEWS

Leave a Reply