Seven-time Supercars champ Jamie Whincup has actually ended his longest winless streak in 13 years after capitalising on a spectacular very first lap in Saturday’s opening race at the Ipswich SuperSprint.

Whincup had not won in 24 races, going back to September 16 in 2015 at Sandown, in what had actually been his longest dry spell because signing up with Triple Eight in 2006.

Holden star Whincup had actually begun 2nd on the grid and overtook champion leader Scott McLaughlin on the 2nd turn.

McLaughlin – having won 6 of the previous 7 races – was likewise gone by Will Davison on the very first lap and fell out of podium contention when Chaz Mostert took him at the middle.

Whincup has actually been on the podium 6 times this season and ends up being simply the 5th winner after 19 races this season, breaking the supremacy of the Ford Mustangs.

DJR Team Penske duo McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard had won 15 of 18 races this season.

McLaughlin had actually protected a 100 th lead for the group however rounded off the podium for simply the 2nd time in 11 races.

Davison made it one-two surface for Red Bull Holden with his very first podium because winning Bathurst in 2016, while Tickford Racing star Mostert came 3rd.

McLaughlin and Mostert are still the only 2 motorists to transform pole into triumph at Ipswich in the previous 8 years.

Motor Sports News

Leave a Reply