The NHL rulebook has its share of grey areas and room for interpretation, which the St. Louis Blues found Tuesday night time when a goal scored off the decrease extremities of referee Tim Peel was disallowed, regardless of deflecting off the skate of Florida Panthers goalie Roberto Luongo and into the net.

Rule 78.5 states “a goal is disallowed when the puck has deflected instantly into the net off an official.”

The NHL clarified to ESPN on Wednesday that “instantly” would not essentially imply “instantly.” In accordance to Stephen Walkom, NHL director of officiating, it additionally means the puck would not deflect off one other participant aside from the goaltender after bouncing off an on-ice official.

On Tuesday night time, Blues defenseman Robert Bortuzzo shot the puck wildly and it bounced off the decrease physique of Peel, who was standing in the best nook of the zone. As he crumpled to the ice in ache, the puck traveled all the way in which to the Panthers’ net, the place it bounced off Luongo and in.

In accordance to Walkom, that shot might have hit Peel, traveled 30 ft, hit off the put up, hit off the goalie, hit off the crossbar and into the net, and it nonetheless would not have been a goal until the puck touched somebody aside from Luongo.

The Blues scored 4 targets within the third interval to win Four-Three.

That rule was clarified to the league’s basic managers final month after a equally weird play between the Carolina Hurricanes and Boston Bruins on Oct. 30, when a puck cleared by defenseman Calvin de Haan hit referee Francois St. Laurent, deflected off Hurricanes ahead Lucas Wallmark and went into the net. In that occasion, the goal ought to have counted for the Bruins. The Bruins won Three-2.

Whereas the GMs have been made conscious of the rule, lots of the Blues gamers mentioned that they have been unaware of it when the goal was waved off, together with Bortuzzo.

“I did not know the rule clearly, so I put my arms within the air. I do not suppose a lot of individuals knew the rule,” Bortuzzo advised the St. Louis Publish Dispatch. “I went for a dump-in and I double-clutched it, so I modified my angle. I caught Peelzie and I felt unhealthy, to be trustworthy, shocked when it went in. Anytime you hit a ref, it is powerful on them and I requested him if he was OK and perhaps I am going to purchase him a dinner sometime.”

It will have been Bortuzzo’s second goal of the season in 11 video games performed.

“He’ll recover from it,” Blues coach Craig Berube mentioned after the Blues’ win. “I knew behind my thoughts that it wasn’t a goal. However it’s not a rule that most individuals know.”

NHL News

Leave a Reply