• Fb
  • Twitter
  • Fb Messenger
  • Pinterest
  • Electronic mail
  • print

IRVING, Texas — Free agent outfielder Curtis Granderson turned the first three-time winner of the Marvin Miller Man of the Year, half of the players’ affiliation’s Players Alternative Awards.

The 37-year-old Granderson, the winner in 2009 and 2016, break up final season between the Toronto Blue Jays and Milwaukee Brewers. He was adopted in the voting by Arizona first baseman Paul Goldschmidt and Los Angeles Angels outfielder Mike Trout. The award is given yearly to a participant for onfield efficiency and contributions to the group that encourage others.

Boston Purple Sox designated hitter J.D. Martinez was voted Participant of the Year, Purple Sox outfielder Mookie Betts was chosen the AL’s Excellent Participant, and Milwaukee’s Christian Yelich was chosen the NL’s Excellent Participant.

Tampa Bay Rays lefty Blake Snell was the AL’s Excellent Pitcher, and New York Mets ace Jacob deGrom was the NL’s Excellent Pitcher. New York Yankees third baseman Miguel Andujar and Atlanta Braves outfielder Ronald Acuna Jr. have been the Excellent Rookies. Free agent outfielder Cameron Maybin and Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Matt Kemp have been the Comeback Players of the Year. Maybin was with the Miami Marlins and Seattle Mariners this 12 months.

MLB News

Leave a Reply