First-year eligibles Tony Gonzalez, Ed Reed and Champ Bailey are among 25 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

In all, 13 defensive gamers, 9 on offense and three coaches — Jimmy Johnson, Tom Flores and Don Coryell — made the lower.

Making it to the semifinals for the primary time, though beforehand eligible, are Flores and linebacker Zach Thomas.

Already finalists for the Hall are contributors Gil Brandt and Pat Bowlen, and senior committee nominee Johnny Robinson.

The 25 modern-day finalists from an authentic group of 103 can be lowered to 15 on Jan. three. The choice assembly can be Feb. 2, the day earlier than the Tremendous Bowl, in Atlanta.

Inductions can be on Aug. three on the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

The semifinalists:

Steve Atwater, security

Champ Bailey, cornerback

Ronde Barber, cornerback/security

Tony Boselli, sort out

Isaac Bruce, vast receiver

LeRoy Butler, security

Don Coryell, coach

Alan Faneca, guard

Tom Flores, coach

Tony Gonzalez, tight finish

Torry Holt, vast receiver

Steve Hutchinson, guard

Edgerrin James, working again

Jimmy Johnson, coach

Ty Legislation, cornerback

John Lynch, security

Clay Matthews, linebacker

Kevin Mawae, middle/guard

Karl Mecklenburg, linebacker

Sam Mills, linebacker

Ed Reed, security

Richard Seymour, defensive lineman

Zach Thomas, linebacker

Hines Ward, vast receiver

Darren Woodson, security

NFL News

Leave a Reply